Fell & Family.

The short answer

Cumbria's Santa trains for 2026 are the Tinsel Trains at Lakeside and Haverthwaite (5 to 20 December, £125 per compartment of up to four), the Ravenglass and Eskdale Santa Express (21 November to 24 December, price not yet published) and Threlkeld Quarry's Santa Specials (£40 for four), plus Alston's South Tynedale Railway, which I couldn't confirm on the railway's own site. The only Santa cruise is at Ambleside on Saturday 21 November, with tickets from 10am on 1 October. Book Honister's grotto, Holker and Tinsel Trains first, because their own pages say they sell out or fill fast.

Checked 29 September 2026; dates change, so the organiser link is the one to trust.

Santa train Lake District is what most people type, and the honest answer is that I found four Santa trains in Cumbria for 2026 (three, if you're strict about Alston, more on that in a minute), plus one Santa boat and a handful of grottos. For a family of four the trains run from £40 to £125, though only two have published a price so far. Below: what each costs, when booking opens, how long you get, what age it suits and what happens when the weather turns.

A confession first: I haven't tried any of these, so none of it is a review. It's the organisers' own pages, read on 29 September, plus my opinion of what a six and a seven year old would make of the setup. Anything from last year is marked 2025.

Every one of these ends the same way, with a small person holding a present and staring at you as though you personally arranged the whole thing. The only real question is whether it cost you £10 a head or £31.

Santa train Lake District 2026: the four that run

Three are proper heritage railways doing a Santa special, and the fourth is Alston, which is Cumbria but not really the Lakes. Ravenglass starts first, on Saturday 21 November. Haverthwaite and Threlkeld join in on 5 and 6 December, and Alston has five days from 12 December. Tinsel Trains finish on Sunday 20 December, while Ravenglass and Threlkeld run to Christmas Eve.

Haverthwaite

Tinsel Trains, Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway

Tinsel Trains, Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway, Haverthwaite
Photo: Lakeside ^ Haverthwaite Railway - geograph.org.uk - 5874736 by David Robinson, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

The dearest of the four, and it works differently: you buy a private first-class compartment, not seats. £125 covers up to four people, extra guests are £30 each and eight is the limit. So a family of five pays £155, and a couple with one child pays the same £125 as a family of four.

You get about an hour on the train between Haverthwaite and Lakeside, a visit from Father Christmas in your compartment, and a seasonal drink and a treat for the grown-ups (alcoholic or not). Every child gets a gingerbread person, a soft drink and a present: a personalised soft toy up to age 10, a goody bag for 11 to 17s. The railway says it suits ages 3 to 10 best. It doesn't say whether steam or diesel pulls the train, so I won't promise a chuffing engine.

Tickets are online only, on sale at 10am on Wednesday 4 November (a mean time to release anything to people with jobs), for 24 departures in total (four a day across six days), and the page warns that spaces fill fast. No refunds or transfers. Everyone is paid for from birth, and pushchairs and car seats aren't allowed on the train or in the station, so a baby means a sling.

Dates
Sat and Sun 5 and 6, 12 and 13, 19 and 20 December 2026. Departures 10.00, 11.30, 13.00, 14.30
Price
£125 per compartment (up to 4), £30 per extra person, maximum 8
Booking
Online only, 10am Wed 4 November 2026. No refunds or transfers
Ages and length
Best for 3 to 10, all welcome. About 1 hour
If it rains
You sit in your own compartment. No weather policy on the page
Parking
Not stated (station postcode LA12 8AL)
Toilets/buggies
Toilets not stated. No pushchairs or car seats. One wheelchair compartment per slot, ring 015395 31594
Check first
Whether any compartments are left after 4 November
Official website ↗
Ravenglass

Santa Express, Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway

The full story-and-steam version. You start at Ravenglass with elf-led storytelling, ride a 40 minute steam train up the Eskdale valley, then meet Santa in the Dalegarth grotto, where each child gets a gift. If the price is fair it's the one I'd pick for a six year old, but on 29 September the railway hadn't published prices, times or an on-sale date.

The 2026 dates are 21, 22, 28 and 29 November, 5, 6, 12 and 13 December, and every day from 19 to 24 December. Last year's page (2025) called it highly popular and said to book early, and 20 to 24 December 2025 were labelled premium dates. That's last year's pattern, not a promise. It's also a long way from most of the Lakes, so this is a day out, not an errand.

Dates
21, 22, 28, 29 November; 5, 6, 12, 13 December; 19 to 24 December 2026
Price
Not published yet (checked 29 September)
Booking
Pre-booked. On-sale date not announced, newsletter sign-up on their page
Ages and length
Age not stated. 40 minute steam journey, total visit not stated
If it rains
Not stated. The railway runs open, semi-open and closed carriages, so ask which you get
Parking
Ravenglass CA18 1SW, pay and display, about 80 spaces. Dalegarth CA19 1TF, about 60
Toilets/buggies
Toilets on platform 1 at both stations, Changing Places at Ravenglass. Book adapted carriages ahead (01229 717171)
Check first
Prices, times and on-sale date. The Ravenglass play area is under refurbishment
Official website ↗
Threlkeld, near Keswick

Santa Specials, Threlkeld Quarry and Mining Museum

The bargain of the bunch, and refreshingly small about itself. You ride the steam engine Sir Tom to find Santa, children get a present and there are seasonal refreshments for everyone. The museum describes its line as half a mile long, so the 25 minutes is mostly Santa, not scenery (I've walked further from a car park).

Tickets are by compartment, and that's where it wins on price: £30 for three people, £40 for four, £50 for five (maximum four adults) and £60 for six. That's £10 a head, and the page was live with prices when I looked. Children count up to 13, and under-12-months travel free, get a gift and don't use up a place. Departures run from 10.15am to 3.15pm (the last on Christmas Eve is 12.30). Arrive 15 minutes early and wrap up, because not every carriage is fully enclosed.

Dates
5, 6, 12, 13, 19, 20 December, then daily 22 to 24 December 2026
Price
£30 for 3, £40 for 4, £50 for 5 (max 4 adults), £60 for 6. Under 12 months free
Booking
Online only, Ticket Tailor. Arrive 15 minutes before departure
Ages and length
Children up to 13, over 13s count as adults. About 25 minutes
If it rains
Not all carriages are fully enclosed, so wrap up
Parking
Ample free parking (CA12 4TT)
Toilets/buggies
Toilets, none fully accessible. Pushchair in the guard's van or on the platform. Ramp and wheelchair space in the guard's van
Check first
Departure times. No permanent café, only takeaway hot drinks and traybakes
Official website ↗
Alston

Santa Specials, South Tynedale Railway

The wild card, and the one I can confirm least. Visit Eden lists Santa Specials from Alston station on five days between 12 and 20 December 2026. The listing says your ticket covers a steam train ride, festive nibbles and a visit from Santa to your carriage with a gift for everyone aged 0 to 17. You give each child's name and age when you book, dogs need their own ticket and places are limited. It shows no price or time, and the railway's own site only showed me last year's Santa Special (Sunday 21 December 2025). So treat 2026 as very likely rather than confirmed.

Dates
Listed by Visit Eden for 12, 13, 18, 19, 20 December 2026. Not confirmed on the railway's own page
Price
Not shown
Booking
Give each child's name and age when booking. Places limited
Ages and length
Gift for everyone aged 0 to 17. Length not stated
If it rains
Not stated
Parking
Not stated
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Everything: price, times and whether tickets are on sale
Official website ↗

Santa cruise on Windermere: Ambleside, Saturday 21 November

Ambleside (Waterhead Pier)

Santa cruises, Ambleside Christmas Lights

This is the only Santa cruise on Windermere I could find with a 2026 date. Windermere Lake Cruises provides the steamers, but the Ambleside Christmas Lights committee sells the tickets. I couldn't find 2026 Father Christmas cruise dates for the Keswick Launch either.

There are two sailings from Waterhead Pier. The morning cruise boards at 10.30am and leaves at 11am prompt, with Santa on board to talk to the children and hand out presents, plus Andy the Jester on balloons and a table magician. The afternoon cruise boards at 1.30pm and leaves at 2pm, and it's new this year: Grinch-themed, with some playful present stealing. If your child finds the Grinch funny, that's yours. If it would count as a betrayal, book the morning.

Tickets go on sale at 10am on Thursday 1 October, and once they're in your basket you get five minutes to pay. The page shows no price, no cruise length and nothing on heating, and I won't guess. Prams and buggies live on the front deck, and dogs are welcome. There are no fireworks this year (costs and insurance, says the committee), but there's a lantern procession from Gables Hotel at 4.30pm.

Dates
Sat 21 November 2026. Boards 10.30am (leaves 11am) and 1.30pm (leaves 2pm)
Price
Not published when checked
Booking
10am Thursday 1 October 2026, Ambleside Christmas Lights site. Five minutes to pay
Ages and length
Not stated. Concession tickets for carers of children with special needs
If it rains
Not stated whether the boat is covered or heated
Parking
Not stated
Toilets/buggies
Buggies stored on the front deck. Dogs welcome. Toilets not stated
Check first
Price and cruise length once tickets are live
Official website ↗

Father Christmas experience in the Lake District: farms, halls and a slate mine

Santa's grotto in Cumbria is a bigger category than the trains, and most work the same way: pre-booked, timed and gone earlier than you'd think. These are the ones where I could check the detail.

Crosby-on-Eden, Carlisle

Father Christmas on the Farm, Walby Farm Park

The nearest big one to Carlisle, and the only one here that's also a full farm day. The farm says the experience is back for 2026, from 28 November to 24 December. Visit Lake District's listing says it's weekends in December plus every day from 19 to 24 December, and that tickets sell out every year. No price, times or release date are up yet.

What's in it comes from last year's page (2025), so use it as a guide: 'Passport Control', Snow Time Fun, an Enchanted Forest with 3D glasses, gingerbread decorating, reindeer, marshmallows, an Elves' Toyshop, teddy-bear building and Father Christmas in small group sessions. Last year annual pass holders saved up to £10.50 a ticket. The farm calls its indoor play area the largest in Cumbria, which is why this is my pick when the forecast is grim and the children can't sit still.

Dates
Sat 28 November to Thu 24 December 2026; weekends in December and daily 19 to 24 December (Visit Lake District)
Price
Not published yet
Booking
2025: pre-booking essential, dates sold out quickly. 2026 release date not stated
Ages and length
Not stated. Full-day farm entry included (2025 wording)
If it rains
Indoor adventure play area, which the farm calls Cumbria's largest. Parts are outdoors
Parking
Not stated (CA6 4QL)
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Price, session times and which December days are open. Closed 25 and 26 December
Official website ↗
Cark-in-Cartmel

Holker Christmas Grotto, Holker Hall and Gardens

Five days only: Saturday 12, Sunday 13, Saturday 19, Sunday 20 and Monday 21 December, in timed slots. You meet Father Christmas and the elves by the library fireplace, and children get a gift, festive crafts and a treasure hunt in the formal gardens. Children get hot chocolate and grown-ups mulled wine (over 18s), free, and there's 10% off in the Courtyard Café.

Holker says tickets are limited and likely to sell out. All are pre-booked, every child needs a parent or guardian with them, and if you've more than three children it suggests booking two slots. The price wasn't showing on the pages I read, so I can't tell you what a family pays.

Dates
Sat 12, Sun 13, Sat 19, Sun 20 and Mon 21 December 2026, timed slots
Price
Not shown when checked
Booking
All pre-booked. Likely to sell out. More than 3 children, book two slots
Ages and length
Not stated
If it rains
Meeting is by the library fireplace, so indoors. The treasure hunt is in the gardens
Parking
Free on site (LA11 7PL)
Toilets/buggies
Disabled toilets in the Courtyard Café complex. Ramps and smooth paths in the grounds, ground floor only in the Hall
Check first
Price and which slots are left
Official website ↗
Keswick

The Santa Experience, Theatre by the Lake

One of the few grottos that shows a price, and the best fit for the smallest children. It's 45 minutes in the Circle Gallery on the second floor: a Christmas story, a quiz, then Santa's Grotto, where each child gets a present and a photograph. It's £18 a child, which includes one adult, and extra adults are £5, so one child and two adults comes to £23. It suits ages 1 and a half to 11, and babes in arms are free.

It runs Monday to Saturday from Thursday 10 to Wednesday 23 December, with sessions at 11am, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm, 4pm and 5pm (no 5pm on Monday 14 or Friday 18 December). The 11am slot, finishing at 11.45am, is for under-5s only, which is clever, because nobody wants a three year old and a ten year old in the same grotto.

Dates
Monday to Saturday, Thu 10 to Wed 23 December 2026
Price
£18 per child including one adult. Extra adults £5. Babes in arms free
Booking
On-sale date not stated. Box office 017687 74411
Ages and length
1 and a half to 11. 45 minutes. Under-5s slot at 11am
If it rains
Indoors
Parking
Not stated (theatre is on Lakeside, CA12 5DJ)
Toilets/buggies
Lift to the second-floor Circle Gallery. Ring the box office for other access questions
Check first
Whether your slot is still on sale
Official website ↗
Borrowdale, near Keswick

Santa's Secret Grotto, Honister Slate Mine

The dramatic one. A bus takes you up to a hillside entrance, you go through old passageways to an elves' workshop and a hidden chamber where Santa keeps his sleigh, meet him in his grotto, and leave by sliding down an underground sledging slope. Every child collects a gift. Honister lists it as all ages, 1.5 hours, from £30. I couldn't open the booking page, so I can't say whether that £30 is per person or per anything else.

It runs on selected dates from 14 November to 23 December, and the mine's page says 'this one sells out every year without exception'. I'd take that at its word and book it first. I'd think twice for a baby (a bus, a mine and a slope), but that's my opinion, not Honister's rule.

Dates
14 November to 23 December 2026, selected dates only, timed sessions
Price
From £30 (Honister's listing, basis not explained)
Booking
bookings.honister.com. Limited dates and spaces, sells out every year
Ages and length
All ages (Honister). 1.5 hours
If it rains
Mostly underground, reached by bus. See the roads note below
Parking
Not stated
Toilets/buggies
Not stated. Ask about buggies before booking
Check first
Which dates are left and what the £30 covers
Official website ↗

Smaller Santa visits worth knowing

Levens, near Kendal

Christmas at Levens Hall

Open 10.30am to 4pm from Friday 4 to Wednesday 23 December. Admission is £9.50 for adults and £3 for children aged 5 to 16, so two adults and two children come to £25 before Father Christmas. His visits are separate and must be booked online in advance, and the price and on-sale date weren't on the page. Last year they went on sale on 27 October. A tourism directory lists visits on 4 to 6, 11 to 13 and 18 to 20 December at £20 a child, but Levens' own page shows neither, so check.

Dates
Fri 4 to Wed 23 December 2026, 10.30am to 4pm
Price
Adult £9.50, child 5 to 16 £3. Father Christmas visit price not shown
Booking
Father Christmas visits must be booked online in advance
Ages and length
Not stated
If it rains
The house is indoors with lit fires. The topiary garden isn't
Parking
Not stated
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Visit price, visit dates and the on-sale date
Official website ↗
Whitehaven

Santa's North Pole Adventure, The Beacon Museum

West Cumbria's version is a workshop rather than a grotto. It runs Saturday 5, Sunday 6, Saturday 19 and Sunday 20 December, 10am to 4pm, at £16.50 per child with two adults included. You get 60 minutes in the elves' workshop and up to 15 minutes with Santa in his office, in a slot with a maximum of three children. Tickets go through TryBooking and are non-refundable, and late arrivals can't be sure of seeing Santa.

Dates
Sat 5, Sun 6, Sat 19, Sun 20 December 2026, 10am to 4pm
Price
£16.50 per child, includes two adults. Museum admission separate
Booking
TryBooking, 15 minute Santa slots, max 3 children. Non-refundable
Ages and length
Age not stated. 60 minutes workshop plus up to 15 with Santa
If it rains
Indoors, in the museum
Parking
Not stated
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Arrive on time or you may miss Santa
Official website ↗

After dark: Lights of Lowther

Lowther, near Penrith

Lights of Lowther

Lights of Lowther, Lowther, near Penrith
Photo: Lowther Castle by Burtonsi, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

This isn't a Santa visit (none of the pages I read mention Father Christmas), so think of it as the evening you add to one. It's an illuminated trail through the castle ruins, gardens and woodland, about an hour, with hot food, mulled wine and marshmallow toasting along the way. Dogs are welcome.

Tickets are £20 for adults, £15 for children under 16 and £65 for a family (two adults and three children, or one adult and up to four children). For two adults and two children the single tickets add up to £70, so the family ticket is the cheaper one. Under-3s go free and don't need a ticket, but three-year-olds do. Slots run every half hour from 4pm, last entry 8pm, and you must arrive within 30 minutes of yours.

Dates
14, 15, 20 to 22, 27 to 29 November; 4 to 6, 11 to 13, 18 to 23, 27 to 30 December 2026. Closed 24, 25, 26 December
Price
Adult £20, child under 16 £15, family £65. Under 3s free
Booking
Pre-booked timed slots. Arrive within 30 minutes of yours
Ages and length
All ages. About an hour
If it rains
Outdoors. In a storm or heavy snow it may be cancelled, with an alternative date or full refund
Parking
Free for this event (CA10 2HH)
Toilets/buggies
Step-free route. A baby carrier is recommended over a pushchair, as the lighting is low. Toilets in the courtyard and by the adventure playground
Check first
The weather on the day. Flat comfortable shoes
Official website ↗

Which one for which family

  • Baby or under 2: Threlkeld. Under-12-months travel free and get a gift, a pushchair fits in the guard's van, and it's over in 25 minutes. Tinsel Trains bans pushchairs and charges from birth.
  • Toddlers, 2 to 4: Theatre by the Lake's 11am under-5s slot. It's indoors, 45 minutes, £18 with an adult included, and there's a lift for the pushchair. Threlkeld is the runner-up.
  • Five to eight, with the budget not the main worry: Tinsel Trains (best age 3 to 10), or the Ravenglass Santa Express once it names a price. Honister is the wildcard from about six, because of the sledging slope.
  • Nine to thirteen: Honister and Lights of Lowther. Threlkeld takes children up to 13, but a half-mile railway is a hard sell to a ten year old.
  • A big party or grandparents in tow: Threlkeld is £10 a head up to six people. Tinsel Trains goes to eight, which is £245 for the compartment (£125 plus four extras at £30).
  • Tight budget: Threlkeld at £40 for four. The free ones are the town switch-ons and fayres where Father Christmas turns up, and our Christmas markets and lights guide has the dates.
  • Wheelchair users: Tinsel Trains has one accessible compartment per departure (ring first), Ravenglass wants adapted carriages booked ahead, Threlkeld has a ramp, and Lights of Lowther has a step-free route.
  • Carlisle: Walby is your nearest. I couldn't find a grotto at the Sands Centre, whose December is the Sleeping Beauty panto (10 to 31 December, from £25, with relaxed performances at 2pm on 15 and 30 December).

Booking calendar: what opens when

None of these organisers publishes sell-out dates, so this is what they've said, in date order.

  • Thursday 1 October, 10am: Ambleside Santa cruise tickets go on sale, with five minutes to check out.
  • Pages already live, so worth a look now: Honister, Threlkeld, Holker (slots listed) and Lights of Lowther.
  • Late October: Levens Hall's Father Christmas visits went on sale on 27 October last year. The 2026 date isn't announced.
  • Wednesday 4 November, 10am: Tinsel Trains go on sale, online only.
  • Not announced: the Ravenglass Santa Express (newsletter sign-up), Walby (dates up, ticket release not stated) and South Tynedale (dates listed, nothing else).
  • Saturday 14 November: Honister's grotto and Lights of Lowther open for the season.
  • Saturday 21 November: the Ambleside cruises and the first Ravenglass Santa Express day.
  • Saturday 28 November: Walby's Father Christmas opens.
  • Saturday 5 and Sunday 6 December: the first Tinsel Trains, Threlkeld and Beacon Museum days.
  • Friday 18 December: most Cumbria state schools break up, so 19 to 24 December is the squeeze (Ravenglass daily, Walby daily, Threlkeld daily from the 22nd).

A guess, and only a guess: the first two December weekends and everything from Saturday 19 December will go first. Five organisers say in their own words that tickets go: Honister, Walby, Holker, Tinsel Trains and, last year, Ravenglass.

If it rains, snows or blows a gale

  • Indoors: Theatre by the Lake, the Beacon, Levens Hall's house and Holker's grotto. Honister is mostly underground.
  • Covered but not sealed: Threlkeld, where the organiser tells you to wrap up. I can't say about the Ravenglass carriages until the railway does.
  • In a compartment: Tinsel Trains, but with no weather policy on the page and no refunds or transfers, ask before you pay.
  • Outdoors: Lights of Lowther, which may be cancelled in a storm or heavy snow with an alternative date or full refund, and the Ambleside parade. Walby has its big indoor play area as a backup.
  • The road to Honister is the B5289 pass, and I found no official winter closure schedule for it. The Cumbria Police traffic map (refreshed about every 10 minutes) is the live check.
See what's on in The Cumbrian Almanac

Questions people ask

Is there a Santa train in the Lake District?

Yes. Tinsel Trains at Lakeside and Haverthwaite run on 5, 6, 12, 13, 19 and 20 December 2026 at £125 per compartment of up to four, and the Ravenglass and Eskdale Santa Express runs from 21 November to 24 December. Threlkeld Quarry, near Keswick, has a cheaper one at £40 for four.

How much are Tinsel Trains at Lakeside and Haverthwaite?

£125 per compartment for up to four people, plus £30 for each extra person up to a maximum of eight. Tickets go on sale online only at 10am on Wednesday 4 November 2026, with no refunds or transfers.

How much is the Ravenglass Santa Express?

Not published yet. On 29 September 2026 the railway had listed its dates (21 November to 24 December) but no prices, times or on-sale date, and was taking newsletter sign-ups.

Is there a Santa cruise on Windermere?

Yes, on one day: Saturday 21 November 2026 from Waterhead Pier, Ambleside, at 11am (Santa on board) and 2pm (Grinch-themed). Tickets go on sale at 10am on Thursday 1 October through the Ambleside Christmas Lights website.

What is the cheapest Santa train in Cumbria?

Threlkeld Quarry's Santa Specials at £30 for three, £40 for four, £50 for five and £60 for six people, about £10 a head. It's a 25 minute steam ride with a present for each child.

Do you need to book Santa's grotto in Cumbria?

For the ones I checked, yes. Honister, Holker, Levens Hall's Father Christmas visits and Threlkeld are all pre-booked, and Honister says it sells out every year without exception.

Are there Santa trains on Christmas Eve in Cumbria?

Yes. The Ravenglass Santa Express runs every day from 19 to 24 December 2026, and Threlkeld Quarry runs daily from 22 to 24 December, with the last Christmas Eve departure at 12.30. Tinsel Trains finish on Sunday 20 December.

Is there a train station in the Lake District?

Yes. Windermere station is the end of the Windermere branch line from Oxenholme Lake District, about 19 minutes on Northern's journey planner, with trains roughly hourly.

Sources and further reading

Facts checked against these pages on Tuesday 29 September 2026. Opening times and prices change, so confirm with the venue.

Read next