Fell & Family.
Seasons

Christmas Markets in Cumbria 2026: Dates, Lights and Parking

Every Christmas market, fair and lights switch-on in Cumbria I could find for 2026, in date order, with prices, parking and an honest view of which ones are worth the drive.

Christmas Markets in Cumbria 2026: Dates, Lights and Parking
Photo: Market Square, Keswick - geograph.org.uk - 1856400 by Brian Clift, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

The short answer

The Christmas events in Cumbria in 2026 worth planning around are the Ulverston Dickensian Festival (Saturday 28 and Sunday 29 November), Taste Cumbria Christmas in Cockermouth (5 and 6 December) and the Keswick Victorian Fayre (Sunday 6 December), plus town lights switch-ons from Carlisle on 15 November to Kendal on 27 November. For an evening with children, book Lights of Lowther or Winter at Sizergh, both timed-ticket light trails. Times for most switch-ons hadn't been published on 29 September, so check the organiser links.

Checked 29 September 2026. Dates change, so the organiser link on each entry is the one to trust, and where a time isn't published yet I say so.

Here's the honest shape of Christmas markets in Cumbria 2026. As far as I can find, there's no single big chalet-and-bratwurst market. You get a run of town lights switch-ons through late November, two proper street festivals (Ulverston and Keswick), a food festival in Cockermouth and a handful of ticketed light trails at castles and country houses. Most of it is outdoors and free, and in early December the sun's gone by ten to four, so nearly all of it happens in the cold and the dark.

Dates come from the organiser's own page unless I say otherwise. Carlisle's and Penrith's come from a news story and a town listing, so treat those two as likely rather than certain.

Christmas markets in Cumbria 2026, week by week

Holker's Winter Market on 6 to 8 November is the early starter. From mid-November it goes like this.

  • Sat 14 to Sun 15 November: Lights of Lowther opens, Coniston Festive Fayre runs (mostly indoors, lantern parade at 3pm), and Carlisle switches its lights on Sunday at 5pm. Coniston for small children, Carlisle for a big free crowd.
  • Mon 16 to Sun 22 November: the busy week. Keswick switches on Wednesday 18th. Winter at Sizergh and the Gingerbread House Festival start Friday 20th. Saturday 21st is Ambleside, Penrith Sparkle and Rheged's fairs, and Cockermouth switches on Sunday afternoon. Pick one Saturday plan, because Ambleside and Penrith are a long way apart.
  • Mon 23 to Sun 29 November: Kendal's lights go on Friday 27th, then the Ulverston Dickensian Festival takes over the weekend, with Workington's lights, market and Lightworks alongside. If I could do one weekend, it'd be this one, for Ulverston.
  • Mon 30 November to Sun 6 December: Christmas at Levens Hall opens Friday 4th, and the weekend of 5 and 6 December is the big one. Cockermouth's Taste Cumbria Christmas and Hawkshead Christmas Fair run both days, Kendal has its Christmas Celebration (dated 5th on one listing, 6th on another), Carlisle Cathedral's trees go up on the Saturday, and the Keswick Victorian Fayre is Sunday. One family in one car should pick two and be happy.
  • Mon 7 to Sun 13 December: the quiet week for markets, so the sensible one for a light trail. Lowther, Sizergh and Levens Hall are all running.
  • Mon 14 to Sun 20 December: most state schools break up on Friday 18th, and Lights of Lowther adds extra dates near Christmas. Carlisle Cathedral holds a community carol service on Sunday 20th at 3pm.
  • Mon 21 to Thu 24 December: Levens Hall closes after Wednesday 23rd, Winter at Sizergh runs to Christmas Eve, and Lights of Lowther is dark on the 24th, 25th and 26th. The cathedral's trees stay up, with a crib service at 2pm on Christmas Eve.

Santa trains, grottos and Father Christmas cruises have their own guide, so I've left them out here.

Worth a special trip, or a nice half hour?

Worth a special trip: the Ulverston Dickensian Festival and Lights of Lowther. Ulverston is two days of mostly free entertainment across the whole town centre, with costume parades on both. Lowther is a lit trail through castle ruins with a fire pit at the end, though £65 for a family for about an hour is a treat, not a bargain. Winter at Sizergh does a similar job for less: £13 an adult and £9.75 a child for non-members, £6.50 for National Trust members.

Worth a day if you're nearby: Taste Cumbria Christmas in Cockermouth, if you want your Christmas market to be mostly food, and the Keswick Victorian Fayre if you're staying in Keswick. I can't rate the Fayre properly yet, because no performers or times were announced by 29 September.

A nice half hour, no more: the switch-ons. Each gives you a stage, some local acts, a countdown and the lights coming on. It's free and children like a countdown, but don't build a day round one. Keswick's is deliberately smaller this year. The council's consultation got 155 responses, 119 of them (76.77%) wanting a simpler, smaller, more traditional event, and the mayor called the 2025 crowding 'frightening'.

Easy to overlook: the free tree festival in Carlisle Cathedral, more than 40 trees, all indoors. Give it an hour. It's a better wet-day plan than most of the above.

Christmas lights switch-ons in Cumbria 2026

In date order. The times are what each organiser had published on 29 September, which for several is none.

Carlisle

Carlisle Christmas Lights Switch-On

The city's big free one is on Sunday 15 November, outside the Old Town Hall. Local acts have slots from 3pm to about 4.50pm, the lights go on at 5pm and a headline act follows, not yet named. That's from a news story quoting Cumberland Council, and I couldn't find a council page for 2026. It's fully dark by 5pm (sunset is about 4.08pm), so children who arrive for the start will be flagging by the end.

When
Sun 15 Nov 2026, lights on at 5pm
Price
Free in 2025; 2026 not stated
Parking
Not published
Toilets/buggies
Not published
Check first
Headline act, road closures (Cumberland Council)
Official website ↗
Keswick

Keswick Christmas Lights Switch-On

Keswick has gone midweek on purpose: Wednesday 18 November. The council calls it a Residents' Town Event and had published no time or programme on 29 September. After its consultation it proposed local choirs, no funfair, market or food stalls, no glass and a one-way system, but the final format isn't published. Go for the lights, not for a night out.

When
Wed 18 Nov 2026, time not published
Price
Free per Cumbria Guru; council page states none
Parking
See the parking section below
Toilets/buggies
Not published
Check first
Time, running order, final format
Official website ↗
Ambleside

Ambleside Christmas Lights and Santa Cruise

Ambleside has lost its fireworks this year (the committee cites rising costs and doubled insurance), but Saturday 21 November is still on. What's left is a children's fun zone in the Vicarage Road school playground, Santa cruises from Waterhead Pier at 11am and 2pm, stalls at Market Cross from 12 and a lantern procession leaving the Gables Hotel at 4.30pm. Cruise tickets were due on sale at 10am on 1 October.

When
Sat 21 Nov 2026
Price
Parade and stalls free; cruise price not published
Parking
No designated parking; Rydal Road, Lake Road or Miller Bridge car parks
Toilets/buggies
Listed as 'coming soon'
Check first
Cruise tickets; switch-on time is not on the timetable
Official website ↗
Penrith

Penrith Sparkle Christmas Lights Switch-On

Penrith Sparkle is free, in the town centre on Saturday 21 November. Discover Penrith says more details will follow, so there's no time or line-up yet. Last year's ran 2pm to 7pm, so plan on an afternoon. Rheged's fairs are the same day, which gives you a dry alternative.

When
Sat 21 Nov 2026, times not published
Price
Free
Parking
Not published
Toilets/buggies
Not published
Check first
Times and programme; date is from Discover Penrith, not the council
Official website ↗
Cockermouth

Cockermouth Christmas Light Switch On

Cockermouth Christmas Light Switch On, Cockermouth
Photo: Christmas lights in Cockermouth - geograph.org.uk - 7353709 by Malc McDonald, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Cockermouth's is the afternoon one: Sunday 22 November, 1.30pm to 5.30pm on Main Street. That's all its page says: no programme, price or road closures. Taste Cumbria Christmas follows a fortnight later, so I'd treat this as the local one and save the trip for 5 and 6 December.

When
Sun 22 Nov 2026, 1.30pm to 5.30pm
Price
Not stated
Parking
Not stated
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Programme, road closures
Official website ↗
Kendal

Kendal Christmas Lights Switch-On

Kendal does its switch-on on a Friday, 27 November, with late-night shopping, entertainment and a special farmers' market, all from Kendal BID. No start time yet. Last year's ran 5pm to 7.30pm with the lights on at 5.30pm, so a Friday teatime is a fair guess, but that's last year's pattern, not an announcement.

When
Fri 27 Nov 2026, time not published
Price
No charge listed
Parking
Council pay car parks; Blackhall Road (LA9 4BT) is free after 6pm
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Start time, farmers' market location
Official website ↗
Workington

Workington Christmas Lights, Market and Lightworks

Workington Christmas Lights, Market and Lightworks, Workington
Photo: Installing Christmas decorations, Campbell Savours Way, Workington - geograph.org.uk - 4309077 by Graham Robson, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Workington packs it into one weekend. Saturday 28 November has stalls, live music and food in the Ladies Walk car park, then Workington Lightworks in Hall Park on both days (illuminated art, projection and music, with a lantern parade on Sunday at 5pm). The two listings disagree on where the switch-on happens, so check. The station is about 0.6 miles away.

When
Sat 28 Nov 2026 (market 11am to 5pm); Lightworks 28 and 29 Nov, 5pm to 7pm
Price
Not stated
Parking
Market is in a car park; Hall Park and Udale Street car parks mentioned
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Switch-on location; whether Lightworks is ticketed
Official website ↗

Markets, fairs and street festivals

Christmas markets in the Lake District proper are small village fairs. In date order:

Cark-in-Cartmel

Holker Winter Market

The early one, Friday 6 to Sunday 8 November. Craft, gift and street food stalls in the grounds, with live music. Let's be straight about the price: adults £12.50, though that includes the Hall and gardens and under 12s are free. Holker says it's outdoors with very limited cover, so wrap up warm.

When
Fri 6 to Sun 8 Nov 2026, 10am to 4.30pm
Price
Adults £12.50, seniors and students £10, under 12s free (book online)
Parking
Uneven ground, 5 to 10 minutes' walk; few Blue Badge spaces
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Weather; book each day online
Official website ↗
Coniston

Coniston Festive Fayre

Coniston's is a proper village fayre, on Saturday 14 November at the Institute: around 22 indoor stalls plus a few outside, afternoon teas from the WI, Santa's grotto from 10am to noon (booking needed), a children's party from 1pm and a lantern parade at 3pm. It's the friendliest for small children, and mostly indoors, which helps in Coniston in November.

When
Sat 14 Nov 2026, 10am to 4.30pm
Price
Admission not stated
Parking
On-road, plus Bluebird Coach and Car Park and Ruskin Avenue (paid)
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Grotto booking; any admission charge
Official website ↗
Windermere

The Gingerbread House Festival

Biscuit architecture, at Low Wood Bay on the Windermere shore from Friday 20 to Sunday 22 November, hosted with Grasmere Gingerbread (though it isn't in Grasmere). You walk round entries that run from country cottages to brutalist buildings, all made of biscuit. It's indoors and free, so it bolts onto the Ambleside weekend or a wet day.

When
Fri 20 (4pm to 9pm), Sat 21 (2pm to 8pm), Sun 22 Nov 2026 (10am to 5pm)
Price
Free to attend
Parking
Not on the festival page; the Friday tree switch-on lists free marina car park for non-residents
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Opening times (from a listing, not the festival page)
Official website ↗
Penrith

Rheged Forty Farms Fair and Christmas Fair

Rheged's Forty Farms Fair, on Saturday 21 November from 10am to 3pm, has over 35 stands of Cumbrian produce, crafts and gifts. A separate Rheged Christmas Fair is listed the same day, with no time or price that I could find. It's indoors, so it's the dry option on the Penrith weekend.

When
Sat 21 Nov 2026, 10am to 3pm
Price
Forty Farms Fair free
Parking
Standard Rheged parking; register your plate if staying over 5 hours
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Details of the separate Christmas Fair
Official website ↗
Ulverston

Ulverston Dickensian Festival

Ulverston Dickensian Festival, Ulverston
Photo: UlverstonDickensianFestival2007 01 by alx_chief, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Ulverston's festival takes over the town centre on Saturday 28 and Sunday 29 November. The organisers say almost all the entertainment is free: several stages with brass bands, magicians, fire eaters and stilt walkers, plus stalls, mulled wine and a costume parade on both days. Dress up if you like, though nobody's going to inspect your bonnet.

When
Sat 28 and Sun 29 Nov 2026, from 10am
Price
Free (almost all entertainment); a few ticketed via TryBooking
Parking
No organiser advice found
Toilets/buggies
Not published
Check first
Programme, times, lights switch-on time (2025: Saturday 4pm, Market Cross)
Official website ↗
Cockermouth

Taste Cumbria Christmas

Cockermouth's food festival, on Saturday 5 and Sunday 6 December, is Cumbrian producers, hot food and a festive atmosphere across the town centre, and the nearest Cumbria gets to a food-led Christmas market. Entry is free and you pay for what you eat. Bring a hat, because the September edition was cut short by wind on the Sunday.

When
Sat 5 and Sun 6 Dec 2026, daily times to be confirmed
Price
Free entry; food and drink paid for; some ticketed events and paid rides (2025)
Parking
Not stated
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Daily times
Official website ↗
Hawkshead

Hawkshead Christmas Fair

Hawkshead's fair is free, in the village streets, on Saturday 5 and Sunday 6 December from 10am to 4pm. The official site gives only dates and times, so what's on is unconfirmed. Hawkshead is a small village of narrow lanes with no published parking advice, so allow time.

When
Sat 5 and Sun 6 Dec 2026, 10am to 4pm
Price
Free
Parking
No advice published
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
What's actually on
Official website ↗
Kendal

Kendal Christmas Celebration

Kendal Christmas Celebration, Kendal
Photo: View of Christmas lights on the lamp posts on Kendal Street - geograph.org.uk - 7679517 by Robert Lamb, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

If you searched for a Kendal Christmas market, this is the nearest thing. Visit Kendal lists it for Saturday 5 December with entertainment, around 20 stalls and seasonal food, while Kendal BID's own page says 6 December, with no year, and mentions a Santa's grotto and Christmas music across the Marketplace. Two dates, one weekend, so check.

When
Sat 5 Dec (Visit Kendal) or 6 Dec (Kendal BID) 2026; time not published
Price
No charge listed
Parking
Council pay car parks, chargeable seven days a week
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Saturday 5 or Sunday 6
Official website ↗
Keswick

Keswick Victorian Fayre

Keswick's Fayre is on Sunday 6 December, with entertainment all day on the main stage in Market Square and at Pack Horse Court, plus a costume competition. On 29 September the entertainment page still said 'coming soon', so no performers and no times. The fayre's site says parking on the day is free in 'the central car park', which is worth knowing given the long-stay tariffs below.

When
Sun 6 Dec 2026, entertainment all day
Price
Free per Cumbria Guru; fayre site gives none
Parking
Free in the central car park on the day, per the fayre; which one isn't said
Toilets/buggies
Not published
Check first
Performers and times
Official website ↗

Christmas in the Lake District: light trails and big houses

The ticketed ones, plus a free one in Carlisle.

Penrith

Lights of Lowther

Lights of Lowther, Penrith
Photo: Lowther Castle by Burtonsi, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Selected evenings, mostly Friday to Sunday, from 14 November to 30 December, closed 24 to 26 December. Pre-booked only, in half-hour slots, and you must arrive within 30 minutes of yours. Most people take about an hour on the trail through the castle ruins and gardens, with mulled wine, hot chocolate and marshmallow toasting near the end. There's a step-free route, though Lowther suggests a baby carrier over a pushchair because the lighting is low. It's outdoors, so it's not your wet-weather plan.

When
Selected evenings, 14 Nov to 30 Dec 2026; entry 4pm to 8pm
Price
Adult £20, child (under 16) £15, family £65, under 3s free
Parking
Free
Toilets/buggies
Step-free route throughout; toilets not stated
Check first
Dates on sale; pre-booked only
Official website ↗
Kendal

Winter at Sizergh

Sizergh's trail runs from Friday 20 November to Thursday 24 December, 12pm to 8pm: lantern shapes, glowing woodland installations and soundscapes, a Georgian winter celebration inside the house and self-led crafts in the Great Barn. Tickets are timed and booked online, non-refundable but swappable through your Digitickets account. It's cheaper than Lowther whichever ticket you buy.

When
Fri 20 Nov to Thu 24 Dec 2026, 12pm to 8pm, last house entry 7pm
Price
Non-members adult £13, child 5+ £9.75; members £6.50; under 5s free; family £29.25 to £48.75
Parking
Non-members £4 for 2 hours, £5 all day
Toilets/buggies
Baby changing and accessible toilets in Visitor Centre; trail takes wheelchairs, Trampers, pushchairs
Check first
Timed slot, booked online
Official website ↗
Levens, near Kendal

Christmas at Levens Hall

Levens Hall does Christmas in the daytime, from Friday 4 to Wednesday 23 December, 10.30am to 4pm. Decorated rooms with lit fires, local choirs playing carols in the Great Hall (dates not listed) and the winter topiary garden. Father Christmas visits must be booked online, entry doesn't need booking. It's mostly indoors, so it's the one to pick when the forecast is bad.

When
Fri 4 to Wed 23 Dec 2026, 10.30am to 4pm
Price
Adult £9.50, child (5 to 16) £3; Father Christmas booked separately
Parking
Not stated
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Choir dates; Father Christmas booking
Official website ↗
Carlisle

Carlisle Cathedral Christmas Tree Festival

More than 40 decorated trees fill the cathedral and Undercroft from Saturday 5 December to Monday 4 January, free, with a puzzle booklet and present treasure hunt for children and a café. The community carol service is Sunday 20 December at 3pm, and Christmas Eve has a crib service at 2pm, Nine Lessons and Carols at 5.30pm and midnight Eucharist at 11pm.

When
Sat 5 Dec 2026 to Mon 4 Jan 2027, 10am to 4pm daily
Price
Free, donations welcome
Parking
Not stated
Toilets/buggies
Not stated
Check first
Reduced hours 24 to 26 Dec; service times
Official website ↗

Parking in Keswick and Kendal

Keswick first, because it's the tighter one. Cumberland Council's pay and display car parks include Central Long Stay (CA12 5DP, 334 spaces) and Lakeside Long Stay (CA12 5DJ, 253 spaces, beside Theatre by the Lake). Between 7am and 7pm it's £3.70 up to 2 hours, £6.30 up to 3, £8.70 up to 6 and £11.10 up to 12, then £1.10 overnight from 7pm. Keswick Rugby Club on Crow Park Road (CA12 5EG) has about 250 spaces at £6 a day on the tarmac and £5 on the gravel, pay on exit, no campervans. Crosthwaite Road (CA12 5PP) has 80 spaces at £4 a day through RingGo. The source page has no update date, so treat prices as a guide. On Victorian Fayre Sunday the fayre says parking is free in 'the central car park', without saying which, and I'd expect it to fill early.

Kendal is easier. Visit Kendal lists 17 council car parks, and all but three take cash and card. Blackhall Road (LA9 4BT) has 81 spaces plus 5 disabled bays: £2.20 for an hour, £3.50 for two, £4.40 for three, £8.10 all day, chargeable 8am to 6pm and free outside those hours. The council lists it as open and chargeable seven days a week, so Sunday isn't a free pass. Payment is coins (no change given), card or phone. A Friday evening switch-on is cheap if it starts late. The Saturday stalls aren't.

Elsewhere: Ambleside's organisers point you to Rydal Road, Lake Road and Miller Bridge, and Sizergh, Lowther and Coniston are covered in their entries. Ulverston, Cockermouth, Hawkshead and Penrith hadn't published parking advice by 29 September. Our Lake District parking guide has the wider picture.

What to do with cold children

Cold children aren't a mood, they're a countdown. A six or seven year old is fine right up until they aren't, about ninety seconds later. What works is boring: a proper base layer and wool socks, because the cold comes up through the pavement; hats and gloves in your pocket before you leave the car; a flask of hot chocolate, because a stall queue with a freezing child is a kind of penance; and a bail-out point (a café, the car, a particular bench) agreed out loud before you go.

A switch-on takes ten minutes of your time and ninety minutes of your evening.

Timing does more than clothes. In Keswick the sun sets at 3.51pm on 1 December and 3.45pm on 13 December, the earliest of the winter (my own calculation, good to a minute or two), so anything starting at five is fully dark and coldest just when the crowd's thickest. Do the daylight bit first and turn up for the lights at the end. Carlisle's acts start at 3pm and the lights go on at 5pm, so you can drift in for the last hour.

Keep a warm bail-out handy. Carlisle Cathedral's trees are free and indoors, with a café. Levens Hall has lit fires. In Keswick, Theatre by the Lake has a free tree installation, Stars of Wonder, visible any time after dark from 1 December, and its indoor Santa Experience is £18 per child including one adult (ages 1 and a half to 11, with lift access). At Lowther, a baby carrier beats a pushchair on the low-lit paths, and a carried toddler is a warmer toddler.

See what's on in The Cumbrian Almanac

Questions people ask

When is Keswick Victorian Fayre 2026?

Sunday 6 December 2026, with entertainment all day on the main stage in Market Square and at Pack Horse Court. Performers and times hadn't been announced on 29 September, and the fayre's website says parking on the day is free in the central car park.

When are Ambleside Christmas lights 2026?

Saturday 21 November 2026, with no fireworks this year. There's a Santa cruise from Waterhead Pier at 11am and 2pm, stalls and entertainment at Market Cross from 12, and a lantern procession leaving the Gables Hotel at 4.30pm.

Does the Lake District have Christmas markets?

Yes, but small ones rather than one big market. The main ones are Coniston Festive Fayre on 14 November, Hawkshead Christmas Fair on 5 and 6 December (free, 10am to 4pm) and Kendal's Christmas Celebration on 5 or 6 December.

Does Keswick have a Christmas market?

Not a dedicated one that I can find for 2026. The Victorian Fayre on Sunday 6 December is the main event, and the regular Thursday and Saturday market carries on in Market Square. The council's plan for the 18 November switch-on removes the market and food stalls.

Is there a Kendal Christmas market in 2026?

Kendal has a Christmas Celebration with around 20 stalls, listed by Visit Kendal for Saturday 5 December, though Kendal BID's own page says 6 December. The lights go on the Friday before, 27 November, with late-night shopping and a farmers' market.

When is the Christmas lights switch on in Carlisle 2026?

Sunday 15 November 2026 outside the Old Town Hall. Local acts perform from 3pm, the lights go on at 5pm and a headline act follows, according to a news report quoting Cumberland Council.

Is the Lake District open on Christmas Day?

Partly. Lowther Castle and Gardens is open all year except Christmas Day, and Lakes Aquarium closes only on Christmas Day. Lights of Lowther doesn't run on 24, 25 or 26 December.

Is the Lake District good at Christmas?

Yes for lights, big houses and short outings, less so for long walks, because Keswick's sunset is around 3.50pm in December. Book Lights of Lowther and Winter at Sizergh ahead, as both are timed-ticket only.

Sources and further reading

Facts checked against these pages on Tuesday 29 September 2026. Opening times and prices change, so confirm with the venue.

Read next